This is as good a way to introduce myself as any, I suppose; borrowed from professorial confessions:
1. What did you do in 2006 that you’d never done before?
Traveled Down Under, watched some of my students graduate, climbed this bridge, saw the Chicago River turned green for St. Patrick’s Day.
2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
No, so I once again resolved to stay in better touch with my friends and to be more conscientious.
3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
No, but one of my best friends from college is scheduled to this year.
4. Did anyone close to you die?
No.
5. What countries did you visit?
Australia and New Zealand.
6. What would you like to have in 2007 that you lacked in 2006?

More willpower to do work rather than read blogs. Hmm, maybe that doesn’t jive so well with starting my own…
7. What dates from 2006 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
Nothing I can think of.
8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Getting a couple of articles accepted to fairly major journals after multiple submissions and edits.
9. What was your biggest failure?
Getting shot down by the NSF twice.
10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
Nothing serious.
11. What was the best thing you bought?
The quilt frame that will hopefully enable me to take some of the tops I have finished and turn them into actual quilts…one of these days…
12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
The wonderful women geographers I know who have brought me into their network and made me feel like I have the potential for leadership positions.
13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
George W. Bush.
14. Where did most of your money go?
Rent and fabric. Well, definitely the former, though my husband would argue for the latter as well.
15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Sydney, and some of the gifts I got my friends for Christmas.
16. What song will always remind you of 2006?
“Bad Day.” Blech.
17. Compared to this time last year, are you:a) happier or sadder? b) thinner or fatter? c) richer or poorer?
Sadder, thinner (marginally), richer.
18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Calling my far-flung friends, researching, quilting.
19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Surfing the web, buying fabric and patterns.
20. How will you be spending Christmas?
Spent it alone with my husband, doing not much of anything.
21. Did you fall in love in 2006?
Not with anyone new!
22. How many one-night stands?
Er, none.
23. What was your favorite TV program?
NUMB3RS.
24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Some of my husband’s colleagues for treating him poorly.
25. What was the best book you read?
Assassination Vacation, as long as audiobooks count as “reading.”
26. What was your greatest musical discovery?
The Rough Guide to Music series. Awesome stuff.
27. What did you want and get?
A couple of seasons of the X-Files on DVD.
28. What did you want and not get?
An NSF grant.
29. What was your favorite film of this year?
Did I even go to the movies this year? Hmm, maybe “Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.”
30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 31, but since it was way back at the beginning of the year, I have no idea what I did.
31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Weighing less at the end of it.
32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2006?
Probably not as sophisticated as I thought it was.
33. What kept you sane?
They Might Be Giants.
34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
The young man who played Cedric Diggory in GoF. Yum.
35. What political issue stirred you the most?
The election.
36. Who did you miss?
My parents. Since I left college, they’ve moved east and I’ve moved west, and it’s strange to only see them a couple of times a year.
37. Who was the best new person you met?
My students, as a group. I finally started teaching mostly majors instead of intro classes, and I really love the students.
38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2006.
Leave plenty of room in front of you in case the doofus driving ahead of you decides to come to a complete stop on a freeway exit ramp.
39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
I’m on an island at a busy intersection
I can’t go forward, I can’t turn back
Can’t see the future
It’s getting away from me
I just watch the tail lights glowing

(U2, “One Step Closer”)

