Wow, what a way to win a football game: in overtime, with Robbie Gould making the longest field goal he’s ever made. Now that’s exciting! In any other year, I would totally be cheering for the Saints next week, since I’m a perpetual fan of the underdog. But not this year: Bears all the way!

I grew up near Chicago, and my ten-year-old self was such a big fan of the Bears that I memorized the numbers of all of the players in the glorious 1985 season. (I still hate the Miami Dolphins for ruining that otherwise undefeated season, just like I will eternally hate the San Diego Padres for keeping the Cubs out of the World Series in 1984.) So when I was watching today’s game, I kept thinking “Otis Wilson!” when #55 made a big tackle, or “Dan Hampton!” when #99 got a sack. If I could just clear out of my head all of the useless stuff like the 1985 roster of the Chicago Bears, I would have room for a lot more important information…

